Skip to content

Paul Haig \ The Warp of Pure Fun [TWI 669]

Cover art by Benoît Hennebert. The booklet contains a detailed track by track commentary by Paul, and notes by Alan Rankine.

4xCD box tracklist:

Disc 1:

1. Silent Motion
2. Heaven Help You Now
3. Love Eternal
4. This Dying Flame
5. Sense of Fun
6. Scare Me
7. Big Blue World
8. The Only Truth
9. One Lifetime Away
10. Love & War
11. Ghost Rider (b side)
12. Endless Song (b side)
13. Dangerous Life (b side)
14. The Executioner (Mix *1)
15. Closer Now (b side)
16. Trust (b side)
17. World Raw(b side)

Disc 2:

1. City Life (1984 demo)
2. Judgement Coming (1984 demo)
3. Love & War (1984 demo)
4. The Only Truth (1984 demo)
5. Heart of Song (1984 demo)
6. Crawling (1984 demo)
7. Fear and Dancing (1984 demo)
8. One Lifetime Away (1984 demo)
9. Trust (1984 demo)
10. Shining Hour (1984 demo)
11. World Raw (1984 demo)
12. All Our Love (1984 demo)
13. Love Eternal (12" Mix)
14. Shining Hour (lost album)
15. One Lifetime Away (lost album)
16. Fear and Dancing (lost album)
17. All Our Love (lost album)
18. Love & War (lost album)

Disc 3:

1. Heaven Help You Now (12" Mix)
2. This Dying Flame (12" Mix)
3. The Only Truth (12" Mix)
4. The Executioner (Mix *2)
5. Scottish Christmas
6. Theme from 'The Persuaders'
7. Change of Heart
8. Work the System
9. Heaven Help You Now (Mantronik Mix)
10. The Only Truth (US Remix)
11. The Executioner (Mix *3)
12. The Only Truth (Instrumental)
13. On This Night of Decision

Disc 4:

1. Scare Me (live in Japan 1985)
2. Blue For You (live in Japan 1985)
3. Heaven Help You Now (live in Japan 1985)
4. Love Eternal (live in Japan 1985)
5. Interview (live in Japan 1985)
6. Ghost Rider (live in Japan 1985)
7. Big Blue World
8. Heaven Sent (live in Japan 1985)
9. Magdalena 82 (live in Japan 1985)
10. The Only Truth (live in Japan 1985)
11. Testimony (demo)
12. Wrapped (demo)
13. Reach the Top (1985 demo)
14. Eastworld (1985 demo)
15. In-Flight Entertainment (1985 demo)
16. Bridges (1985 demo)

Available on 4xCD in deluxe clamshell box. To order please select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and click on Add To Cart button, or else contact LDDC by email for other shipping options (including tracked and/or signed). You can also order from our friends at Burning Shed (Europe) and Darla (North America).

The Warp of Pure Fun [TWI 669]
CD box shipping options


"Haig tapped into the dance zeitgeist, swapped Oxfam for Gaultier and allied his croon to the emergent electro wave. Excellent singles, plus seven extra examples of Haig's anguished android funk pop" (Uncut, 11/2003)

"Arguably still his finest solo recording. Haig's knack for heady melody coupled with enigmatic lyrics and that wonderfully aloof delivery remain gloriously intact, and is coaxed into wonderful shapes by ex-Associate Alan Rankine. The fact that Warp is also heavy on the shoulda-been-huge singles quota also helps significantly. Warp still takes some beating 18 years on and makes magnificent rubble of the theory that there were no superb pop albums released during the excessively naff mid-1980s" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 10/2003)

"A consistent wad of pop, Haig has once more opted to give it electronified pop with wit, wild statements and jaunty boxes of guitars" (NME, 11/1985)

"One of the best 'pop' albums of all time. Full of synthesised magic and Paul Haig's bold, aggressive vocals make it a joy throughout. Wonderful!" (Amazon, 2005)