Skip to content

Devine & Statton \ Cardiffians [LTMCD 2435]

Cardiffians is the second duo album by vocalist Alison Statton (Young Marble Giants, Weekend) and guitarist Ian Devine (Ludus, Low Gods).

Named after the first city of their native Wales, Cardiffians was recorded in Brussels in early 1990. The album features a fuller band sound than debut set The Prince of Wales, with guest musicians including bassist Peter Hook (New Order), guitarist Marc Ribot (Costello, T-Bone Burnett) and members of NYC outfit The Jazz Passengers. Most of the 12 tracks were written by Devine, except Silence (co-written with Statton) and an endearing cover of Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue.

Cardiffians was originally issued on Les Disques du Crépuscule in 1990, with 5 bonus tracks added to this expanded remaster. Cover art by Benoît Hennebert. CD booklet includes archive photos and liner notes by writer Everett True.


1. Hideaway
2. Lovers Get In the Way
3. Crestfallen
4. A Fact of Life
5. Regina and Michael
6. Silence
7. Enough is Enough
8. In the Rain
9. Green and Pleasant Land
10. A Right to be Lazy
11. Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue
12. Last Days
13. Advertisement
14. Hideaway (version)
15. Take Me Or Leave Me
16. Giving In To Sin
17. Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue (12" version)

Available on CD and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To order CD please first select correct shipping option (UK, EU or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button below cover image. Digital copies are dispatched to customers via email link.

Cardiffians [LTMCD 2435]
CD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"Sounds absolutely amazing. Statton's voice is clear and sharp, cutting through the simple tunes and sending shivers down your spine. A fantastic album" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 02/2006)

"A polished gem - songs about sunshine, rain, snapshots of the past, lovers and crests falling" (Melody Maker, 01/1991)

"Exotic woodwind, natty synth lines and Statton's frail voice dominate proceedings. Imagine Everything But the Girl performing the Fifth Dimension's Up, Up and Away and you're close to capturing the charm of their work" (NME, 02/1991)

"Alison's seductive voice is still intact, as is her fascination with French popular music of the 40s and 50s. Crestfallen and Hideaway sound like Weekend numbers updated by an older, more knowing chanteuse" (Select, 05/1991)

"The divine sound of South Wales - all gentle passion and bittersweet melodies" (South Wales Echo, 01/1991)

"Cardiffians features a more substantial band, and is another overlooked gem" (Exclaim!, 03/2006)