Skip to content

Marine \ Life In Reverse [LTMCD 2396]

Life In Reverse is an archive CD by Marine, the acclaimed post-punk-funk combo signed by Les Disques du Crépuscule, and later known as Allez Allez.

The band formed in Brussels in 1980 and were active between 1981-82, releasing three classic singles in Life In Reverse, Rive Gauche and Same Beat. Frequently anthologised on post-punk compilations, debut single Life In Reverse drew praise from the UK music press and climbed to *6 in the UK indie charts in April 1981. Fronted by charismatic singers Marc Desmares and Sarah Gregory, Marine were a fleetingly brilliant band with the hooks - and the looks - for wider success, but split while taping their first John Peel session.

This remastered CD gathers together all Marine studio recordings, and also includes a 25 minute QuickTime audio visual section featuring charming Super 8 home movie footage of a trip to London to perform at a Crépuscule night at Heaven in July 1981, plus rehearsal material, as well as the superb monochrome clip for Napoli.

The booklet features original artwork by Benoît Hennebert, detailed liner notes and archive photos.


1. Life In Reverse
2. Animal In My Head
3. Same Beat
4. Marenas Bop
5. Scrub
6. Remember Caribou
7. A Proposito dei Napoli
8. How To Keep Cool
9. Turn Up the Meter
10. She's Stirring Up
11. A Man and a Woman
12. Leningrad In Winter
13. Dim the Light
14. Kiss My Knee
15. A Proposito Dei Napoli
16. Une Soirée Avec... (film)

Available on digital (MP3 or FLAC). CD is currently out of stock. To order please first select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button below cover image. Digital copies are supplied to customers by link sent by email.

Life In Reverse [LTMCD 2396]
MP3 options
FLAC options


"To call Marine a funk group would be but half the story. Blending the articulate, rhythmic groove of the JBs with the frenetic speed of punk, the band helmed passionate, intense music. With untouchable tracks like Animal In My Head, She's Stirring Up and Same Beat this is a vital collection" (The Big Takeover, 09/2004)

"Shake your head in bewilderment that Marine didn't become all-conquering" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 10/2004)