Skip to content

Ultramarine \ Every Man And Woman Is A Star [LTMCD 2345]

In 1991 electronic duo Ultramarine recorded their landmark album Every Man And Woman Is A Star, frequently described as ambient-techno. Released in this form by Rough Trade in 1992 to widespread acclaim, the album was eulogised by Simon Reynolds in dance culture bible Energy Flash: "All sun-ripened, meandering lassitude and undulant dub-sway tempos, like acid-house suffused with the folky-jazzy ambience of the Canterbury scene."

As well as companion singles Stella and Saratoga, the album offers a mesh of acoustic textures underpinned by sometimes dubby, sometimes upfront beats. It's a lavish mix of light yet infectious rhythms and mellow vibes, recalling lazy afternoons and bright summer seascapes. Largely instrumental, the album also features lyric snatches from Kevin Ayers and Robert Wyatt.

"It isn't really techno music," confides Ian Cooper. "We used the shape and form of dance music but use different acoustic sounds. It's the sort of stuff which seeps into you."

Remixes from EMAWIAS are available on the CD Companion [LTMCD 2352]. A triple vinyl edition of EMAWIAS with new artwork was issued by Rough Trade in 2014.

CD tracklist:

1. Discovery
2. Weird Gear
3. Pansy
4. Honey
5. Stella
6. Geezer
7. Panther
8. British Summertime
9. Saratoga
10. Nova Scotia
11. Lights In My Brain
12. Gravity
13. Canoe Trip
14. Skyclad

Available on CD and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To order please first select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and click on Add To Cart cart button below cover image. Digital copies are delivered to customers via link sent by email.

Every Man And Woman Is A Star [LTMCD 2345]
CD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"First class laze-out music" (Q Magazine, 12/1991)

"Their masterpiece: electronic folk music; acoustic techno; the most complete electro album ever - pick your own description" (NME, 07/1993)

"It's daring open-mindedness produces a genuinely thrilling end result" (Melody Maker, 12/1991)

"Unique. Ultramarine anticipated the laid-back, enigmatic likes of DJ Shadow and were themselves, in their quiet but effective way, a UK equivalent of De La Soul. Ten years on, this still seems as fresh as newly combine-harvested hay" (Uncut, 09/2002)

"The essence of the Big Chill festival - four stars" (Q Magazine, 10/2002)

"Less a rave record than an audio essay about rave culture. Ultramarine's unique style of folkadelic techno is utterly gorgeous, weaving jazzy flutes, glistening acoustic guitars, soft-rock vocals and samples of birdsong and water-ripples amidst the snaking 303s and chugging sequenced grooves" (eMusic, 10/2006)

"One of the first proper artist albums to come out of acid house and remains among the finest works of the whole genre. Any why is that? Simple, no rules" (Ministry, 09/2002)

"The acknowledged classic of chilled electronica. There were, and indeed are, so many highlights that it seems unfair to point to anything in particular" (Tangents, 07/2002)

"An album full of suss and vibes" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 08/2002)

"Everything about this album shines brightly, colourfully - a kick in the balls for clubland snobs" (NME, 12/1991)

"Quite simply some of the most beautiful, ambient music ever heard" (The Big Issue, 03/1992)

"You can put it on, go away, come back in a couple of years and it'll still be there" (DJ, 12/1991)

"A wonderful thing. Electronic music for the after-party, to ensure a pleasant yet meaningful come-down, and not a bad song in the bunch" (thetripwire, 01/2007)