Skip to content

Biting Tongues \ Recharge [LTMCD 2376]

Recharge is the Tongue's legendary last, lost album recorded in late 1988, by which time the band had scaled down to a duo of Graham Massey and Howard Walmsley.

At the same time, Massey was also recording the second 808 State album Quadrastate, but although Pacific State went on to conquer the singles chart, the adventurous dance and electronica cut by the Tongues for Recharge found itself out of step with early club culture - this despite having all the DNA of a future about to be unravelled.

Unfortunately Recharge ran out of juice at the test pressing stage when label Cut Deep ceased trading in 1989. Says Massey: "White labels of Recharge circulated for years as the holy grail of fans of early 808, due to the fact that it was recorded in the same sessions as Quadrastate. If it wasn't for Howard leaving his soprano sax in the studio overnight, Pacific State might have been another story..."


1. Double Gold St Paul
2. Recharge
3. Love Out
4. Neckwork
5. Increase
6. Take the Back Right Off
7. One Angel
8. Surrender
9. Love Out (Brainwash Mix)

Available on CD and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To order CD please first select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button below cover image. Digital copies are delivered to customers via link sent by email.

Recharge [LTMCD 2376]
CD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"A prototype for 808 State" (Uncut, 11/2003)

"An interesting historical addition to their ouevre. Much of the Tongues' cult reputation revolves around the idea that they presaged the electronica of Aphex Twin, Autechre et al" (The Wire, 03/2004)

"Blueprints outlined for 808 State" (Brainwashed, 05/2003)