Skip to content

Minimal Man \ The Shroud Of [BOUCD 6609]

The Shroud Of was originally released by Subterranean Records in 1981, when Minimal Man was a trio comprised of Patrick Miller with Andrew Baumer and Lliam Hart. Guest musicians include Tuxedomoon members Steven Brown and Michael Belfer. The album serves up 13 tracks of dark, dissonant electronics and 'anti-music', together with generous side orders of isolation, insecurity, terror and black humour.

The album has been digitally remastered to include five rare bonus tracks, taken from the singles Two Little Skeletons and He Who Falls, the latter recorded live at the legendary Deaf Club in San Francisco in September 1979. Also featured is the hard-to-find compilation track Shower Sequence.

CD booklet includes Patrick Miller biography and artwork.


1. Loneliness
2. Two People
3. High Why
4. Hospital
5. Blue Step
6. Hatemonger
7. Now I Want It All
8. The Hex of Sex
9. You Are
10. I Don't Resist
11. Jungle Song
12. She Was a Visitor
13. Two Little Skeletons
14. Tired Death
15. Shower Sequence
16. He Who Falls (live)
17. She Was a Visitor (live)

Available on digital download. CD is sold out.

The Shroud Of [BOUCD 6609]


"Relentlessly dark and aggressive, Miller creates a cinematic ambience of high-contrast black and white. LTM have done an excellent job on this reissue, including hard-to-find bonus tracks and some of Miller's excellent paintings reproduced in the booklet, with a detailed biography. I'm looking forward to getting my hands on the rest of the discography" (Brainwashed, 2005)

"In much the same way as Suicide and The Pop Group, the use of the most rudimentary instruments and production has meant that what may have seemed unlistenable and frightening 20 years ago now seems important. And still pretty frightening. As compelling as it is disturbing, the shock tactics used on this record are skilfully deployed, putting today's 'provocative' acts firmly in their place" (Leonard's Lair, 2004)