Skip to content

The Passage \ Pindrop + Degenerates [LTMCD 2589]

To mark the 40th anniversary of Pindrop, the lauded first album by cult Manchester post-punk group The Passage, LTM presents a new 2xCD set combining their 1980 debut with their third and most commercially successfully album, Degenerates, from 1982.

Formed by former Halle Orchestra percussionist Dick Witts and Fall bassist Tony Friel in 1978, the band issued two EPs on esoteric indie label Object Music before fracturing the following year, leaving Witts to record Pindrop virtually solo. A dense, brooding, claustrophobic album, dominated by layered keyboards and incisive vocal texts, contemporary critics put Pindrop on a par with Joy Division and Wire. "A work of disciplined intellectual aggression, frantic emotions and a powerful idiomatic musicality," wrote Paul Morley in NME. "It's as shocking a beautiful nightmare, as stormy and aware a debut LP as Unknown Pleasures."

By 1982 the group were a trio, with Witts joined by guitarist Andrew Wilson and drummer Joe McKechnie, as well as an array of emerging digital technology. The third Passage album, Degenerates, appeared on Cherry Red, trailed by near-hit single XoYo. "How on earth XoYo missed the charts must remain forever a mystery," Q Magazine would note later of an album of skewed technopop, which nevertheless retained the dark truculence of the group's earlier work.

Both Pindrop and Degenerates are expanded on CD to include companion singles and radio sessions, with archive images and detailed liner notes contained in the 16 page booklet.

2xCD tracklist:

1. Fear
2. Troops Out
3. Carnal
4. Watching You Dance
5. Hunt
6. Anderton's Hall
7. From the Heart
8. Locust
9. 2711
10. 16 Hours
11. Carmen
12. A Certain Way to Go
13. Prelude
14. Love Song
15. Competition
16. Slit Machine
17. New Kind of Love
18. Taking My Time
19. Clock Paradox
20. 16 Hours
21. Time Delay
22. Mr Terror - Chief of Police
23. My One Request
24. The Beginning, The Dawn
25. A Man Set Out
26. Tangled
27. Shave Your Head

2. Fleck
3. Revelation
4. Love Is As
5. Born Every Minute
6. (Ourselves)
7. Go to Seed
8. Armour
9. Time Will Tell
10. Empty Words
11. XOYO (7" version)
12. Animal In Me
13. Born Every Minute (flexi)
14. Taboos
15. Taboodub

Available on CD only. To order double CD please select correct shipping option and click on Add To Cart button below cover image, or else contact LTM by email for other payment options.

Pindrop + Degenerates [LTMCD 2589]
CD shipping options


"Lyrically they were bluntly polemical, and more explicitly than Joy Division, they caught the strange mood cocktail of hedonism and mortal fear of the early 80s" (Uncut, 06/2003)

"My, they've aged well. Lovingly compiled, and brimming with extra tracks and sharp-eyed sleevenotes" (Q, 07/2003)

"Pindrop chilled and thrilled - vocals switching between panicky whisper and desperate chant, drums beaten with a relentless passion, synth lines coiling around your heart like a creeper" (The Wire, 12/2003)

"With the disquieting Pindrop, The Passage can be accepted as major. It's a work of disciplined intellectual aggression, frantic emotions and powerfully idiomatic musicality. It's as shocking a beautiful nightmare, as stormy and aware a debut LP as Unknown Pleasures" (Paul Morley, NME, 10/1980)

"An astounding first LP - the most appropriate parallels are early Joy Division and late Wire, but their technique is unique to them" (Sounds, 10/1980)

"Pindrop never ceases to haunt and provoke no matter how many times you refer back to it. Troops Out has all the hallmarks of a great post-punk hit single, and the Piccadilly Radio session is largely fantastic. The two rare Object EPs feature Tony Friel's propulsive input and are pretty startling too" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 04/2003)

"Riven with muggy, claustrophobic urgency. Of all Manchester's sons to crawl from punk's fallout, Dick Witts was possibly the cleverest" (Glasgow Herald, 04/2003)

"A welcome electronic diversion" (Careless Talk, 05/2003)